All that Hullaballo but what is there to do!?

“The power of food has a primal place in our homes that binds us to the rest of life.” Jamie Oliver

Image

Just like many others in the health care profession, I think a lot about the health of others, namely overweight and obesity, specifically in children. Who or what is to blame?  Why is this happening?  Where do we start to prevent this cycle from continuing?  I don’t know about you but the whole “I am going to outlive my kids” really gives me the willies!

But, as I previously stated, where do we start? I often feel like we are playing the blame game {homes, schools, communities, the food industry, BPA, YOU, etc} with no one really taking responsibility themselves.  And with so many “culprits”, even as a nutrition professional, I get overwhelmed!

Image

I recently listened to the award winning TED talk that Jamie Oliver gave back in 2010.  If you haven’t heard it, it is worth 20 minutes of your time.  While I can’t say I agree with all of the points that Jamie makes (there  ARE food experts in some some school districts, and while this is not the norm, I firmly believe those districts should be recognized for the amazing effort they put forth to make healthy food within unrealistic budgets), his take home message is powerful.

“…educate every child about food, inspire families to cook again, and empower people everywhere to fight obesity.”

This really got me thinking… While schools seems like an excellent place to get nutrition education, unfortunately, schools are inundated with more than they can handle, and I can tell you, nutrition education isn’t at the top of their list (if it was I just might have a job! ;)). Why not turn our very own homes into the classroom!  It can be easy, it can be fun, and it can be an educational experience for everyone involved.  Everyone needs to eat, why not turn it into a learning experience!?

So, I have a proposition for you.  Let’s learn to cook.  Let’s prepare ourselves so that we can expose our children, or nieces, nephews, god children, grand children, great grand children or friend’s kids to silly and unusual foods. Let’s set an example and make time in the kitchen fun! And (as Jamie suggests) let’s pinky promise that each of us will teach the important kids in our lives 10 simple, delicious recipes so that they can lead the next generation to a healthier, happier life!

To help prepare you, every Monday for the next 10 weeks I will post one healthy kid friendly recipe that you can tuck away for that special little kiddo in your life!  Let’s be kids again, learn something new, and save the next generation!

2 thoughts on “All that Hullaballo but what is there to do!?

  1. Pingback: Teaching Kids to Cook | E.A.T.S., Rx

  2. Pingback: Teaching Kids to Cook – II | E.A.T.S., Rx

Leave a Reply

